Mnemonic Monday: Structures of the Diaphragm

By Haley Masterson

Mnemonics are an important tool for approaching Gross Anatomy. Here’s one for the diaphragm that will help you not only in orienting yourself in the lab, but also in identifying cross-sectional levels on x-rays in the future.

I Ate 10 Eggs At 12

The diaphragm has 3 main hiatuses – the hiatus of the inferior vena cava (IVC), the esophageal hiatus, and the aortic hiatus. The IVC passes through the diaphragm at the level of T8 (I “ate”), the esophagus passes at the level of T10 (“10 Eggs”), and the aorta passes through at the level of T12.

Categories: Mnemonics

2 replies »

Leave a Reply